I initially started this blog to write about frugality, but I found in the long run that a) I wasn’t that frugal and b) it was pretty boring to write about. I’m restarting it now so I have a space away from my regular blog to participate in Reverb10.

Today’s prompt:

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

My word for 2010: transformative. 2010 started with me in a serious rut. My career looked like a dead end after I’d spent years planning to move up. I was doing freelance, but it wasn’t satisfying, and I was really only doing it for the extra income. My home life was happy and satisfying, but I’ve always needed other outlets to express myself and feel useful. I’ve always had an interest in design, but was too intimidated to really embrace it and see what I could do. My boyfriend encouraged me to start some classes in web design. I started in fall, and I have to admit I love it. I have something interesting to do that I don’t have to do to make ends meet; something that could go in many directions for me.

The word I’d like to embrace for 2011 is progressive. I took the first steps toward a new hobby, possibly a new career, and have allowed myself to be creative, recognizing that creativity, in any form, is never wrong. It just is. In 2011 I’d like to take more steps toward defining what my newfound fearless creativity means for me, and how I can use it to live a richer life daily.

Another element of being fearlessly creative, for me, has been to be a little bit fearlessly cheesy. To participate in things like Reverb 10, which in the past I might’ve seen as silly, or decided to participate in privately and then quitting after a few days. I’ve set up this blog as a space to contemplate all elements of my creativity and daily life, and to not be afraid of questioning myself and my motives. I’m looking forward to responding to each day’s prompt and learning from the experience alongside other creativity fiends.

