Prompt: Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

Author: Leo Babauta

I think a better question would be: what don’t I do that doesn’t contribute to my writing? Wait, that’s a double negative. Okay, fine. Here are a few things I do that don’t contribute:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Reader
  • Netflix
  • Pinterest (kind of obsessed now)

On the other hand, these do sometimes contribute to my writing by giving me things to think about and subjects to write about. Half the time I don’t actually get around to writing about them. Maybe I’m just a professional ruminator.

In the past few years, I’ve started thinking of myself as a non-writer. I like to rant, and type things out, but I don’t embrace the process of re-reading my writing, adjusting it and fine-tuning it before I present it to the world. My current script is that I’m too lazy and I just don’t care enough about writing to make it perfect. I’m happy to slap something together and share it. I feel I can communicate relatively well, but I’m also generally writing from the perspective that I’ll be the only one reading it.

Writing is no longer my preferred way to communicate. It may be the one I’m most comfortable with, but I don’t feel a deep connection to it like I once did. I would probably never refer to myself as a writer.  So the things I would eliminate to give more time to writing… I will keep them for now, because they inspire me in other ways, and I’ll write when it feels like the thing to do.

