Prompt: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

author: Ali Edwards

I thought about this all day, and the answer, which I knew immediately, surprised me. I’ve felt very alive often this year, doing an activity I’m often loathe to do: running. I’m glad this prompt came up, because it’s reminded me to continue running through winter. Nothing’s better than feeling strong, loping along with my dog (who always enjoys a run, even if I’m in a foul mood), through spring air, summer humidity, fall leaves and even winter briskness. Running gives me a sense of control and power I don’t often feel at work. It’s a great release; a time to be alone in my head while observing the entire world around me.

