Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? – Alice Bradley

I let go of a friend. That was painful and awkward, and I could’ve handled it better. I was immature. I didn’t yell or scream or accuse, I just faded into the darkness. It was time to end the friendship, after a long period of attempted moral support, but I’ve always been bad at ending relationships in a healthy way. I’m sorry for that, but I’m glad to be free, honestly.

I let go of the idea that I need to be on a Career Path.  It’s reasonable to want to enjoy work, but I felt like I was failing at something – until I realized it was something I had no control over. The economy, changes in office structure, the realization that there are a lot of things about business work that I don’t care for: these things all combined to throw me off of whatever imaginary path I thought I was on a few years ago. I’m thankful for it. It’s made me think more about what I really want to be doing and how I want my future to look. My life can be any number of things and I don’t need to impress anyone, including myself.

